trailjnr.blogg.se

Crouton chromeos
Crouton chromeos






My 'main machine is still my ageing Asus EEE 1000 PC netbook currently running MINT 17 Qiana. Typing this (in chrome on my Acer chromebook. Most of what I do in Linux is via the GUI, rather than the CLI. I really dislike unity, and my preference is for MInt / Cinnamon, both my level of 'expertise' (.if one may call it that), are sorely lacking. Kindly correct me if I am wrong, but it seems that my best choice would be ubuntu / unity. (FWIW, I am the sole user and the machine is connected to my secured home network). I am aware of the security risks WRT developer mode. I would avoid cinnamon DE and stick with Xfce also didn't hear about a successful installation of ubuntu 14.04 or Mint 17 crouton does support encrypting chroots, but the encryption is only as strong as the quality of your passphrase.Īs you are using a hack to load "linux" chances are not all distro will work. Note that developer mode, in its default configuration, is completely insecure, so don't expect a password in your chroot to keep anyone from your data. WSL1 used a Linux kernel shim over the top of the NT kernel.You need a device running Chromium OS that has been switched to developer mode. Think the support Google picked the right architecture is that Microsoft has scrapped WSL1 and are adopting the Crostini architecture for WSL2. This means they get updated and are kept secure. This is ideal as ChromeOS is Linux based and already used Linux drivers. Say you wanted to learn Python.Īlso realize Crostini does NOT use the actual drivers but instead uses Virt-IO to tap into the actual drivers a layer below.

crouton chromeos

Wrote this for another post but seems applicable here. Basically a single click and you are ready to go. Plus Crostini is by far the most secure way to use GNU/Linux on a Chromebook.

crouton chromeos

That is the future and if/when Google switches ChromeOS to use the new kernel Crostini will continue to function and Google already done the code development, it is called Machina.Ĭrostini is also the supported approach from Google.








Crouton chromeos